Inspiration 

I’ve had a lot of questions lately regarding my inspiration for the house. 

I quickly realized that not everyone knows that I have a Joanna Gaines obsession and I should clarify. 

Inspiration actually started long ago with my love affair with plantation homes. I used to do the all day tours and feel so at home while I walked around the house and grounds. So much so that I got married at a plantation. 

   
 
It was always about the feeling I got while I was there. Loving the sense that others had been there 100’s of years before me. So much history in one place.

I’ve also always loved antiques. We won’t get into that can of worms right now, but just know that. 

Since none of my ancestors willed me a plantation home, I knew I would have to get creative with my own home. I like the more casual feel of a farmhouse mixed with the southern charm of the plantation style. So when Fixer Upper started on HGTV, I felt like Joanna Gaines was my spirit animal. She often captures exactly what I’m looking for and no doubt I would love having her do my own home (although I know that’s not possible).

Like many others, most of my inspiration came from finding ideas on Pinterest. I knew exactly what I wanted, and needed to see it in front of me to really visualize it. (Can you tell I’m a visual learner?)

One of the first things I ever pinned was this image. 

  
If that doesn’t sum it all up, I don’t know what does. Pinned straight from Magnolia’s website, feminine and distressed, slipcovered dining chairs in the background, with ladder-back chairs in the foreground and a set of french doors thrown in. 😂

Speaking of doors, from day on I was having a hard time articulating the door style I wanted. I couldn’t find anything that was exactly like what was in my head. I wanted to find a picture that encompassed the door and the shutter. Not possible, I learned. What I did find, was this picture. 

  
And I knew that’s what I wanted my front door to look like. But not my shutters. The struggle is real.

Another aspect of this build that’s been challenging is getting our subs to see my vision. No one gets me. They look at me like I have 5 heads. 

Jon said when he went to the lumber yard to buy the shiplap, the man said no one had bought that from him in about six years. Just seems odd considering its kind of a classic. But what do I know. 😄

I’ve had to go into each meeting knowing exactly what I want. They will try to talk you out of things. If you know exactly where you’re going when styling everything, you won’t have a problem. If you have just a smidge of doubt, they’ll change your mind. 

Do your research. Pin 1265 pins if it means you will be certain with your choices. Know what you want, and it makes it much easier to have your inspiration come to life. 

Leave a comment